Orders of Chivalry

From 1904 the administration of Orders of Chivalry has been overseen by the Central Chancery of the Orders of Knighthood. 

The creation of the Order of the British Empire (now the largest Order of Chivalry in the UK Honours System) in 1917 enabled appointments to the wider population, with people from all backgrounds being recognised for their outstanding contribution to arts, literature, science and, at the time, the war effort. 

At present, the four main Orders of Chivalry administered by the Central Chancery are; 

  • The Order of the Bath
  •  The Order of St Michael and St George
  • The Royal Victorian Order
  • The Order of the British Empire 

Details of each Order, including the history, events and services of active Orders, can be found via the left hand menu.